Table Thursday: Asian Quinoa Bowl (for one)

I don’t know about you guys but sometimes I really don’t want to take the time to cook.  Cooking for one is a pain and sometimes difficult because you never know how much you should cook and if you are like me you don’t want a ton of left overs.  When I cook quinoa I always have left overs, it’s like cooking rice or beans, you really can’t cook a tiny amount.  I don’t mind have left over quinoa because it is so versatile I can add it to so many meals.

I have been obsessed with rice noodles and this Asian sauce I found here on Gimme Some Oven’s blog.  I don’t add the sesame seeds or hot sauce because I don’t usually have those on hand and it’s still delicious. The sauce takes less than 5 minutes to make so it’s a perfect quick meal sauce.

This meal, like all my others is super easy to make.  I love easy meals because besides during the summer I just don’t have the time or energy to make big complex meals after being in school and studying.  This next year won’t be any different because I will be blocking/student teaching so I will have lesson plans and grading and studying to do!  The summer is a perfect time for me to experiment with different recipes and see which I can make cheaply and quickly.
I have been experimenting for awhile and I know which frozen veggies I like and which ones I need to eat fresh.  Frozen are so much cheaper and easier to make sure they don’t spoil than fresh but for some veggies I just won’t do it.  I know that I love Asian Stir-fry frozen veggies from Kroger (of course).  I try to keep a bag of these in the freezer because they are perfect for a fast meal.  Here they are cooking up for the recipe which I have not gotten to yet. I added the kale in because I had some I needed to use up before it went bad (one of my non frozen veggies) Don’t these delicious??

Cooking Veggies

I also try to keep tofu on hand since it is my main source of protein and super easy to make quick as well.  Plus, people think I’m crazy but tofu is one of my favorite foods!  So for this meal I cooked up some tofu to throw in the bowl with the quinoa and veggies. The liquid in the measuring cup is the sauce I mentioned from Gimme Some Oven (link back up top).

Ingredients tofu

So now for the recipe:

Ingredients:
tofu
quinoa
Asian sauce from Gimme Some Oven
olive oil for sauteing veggies and tofu
Frozen Asian stir-fry veggies

Steps:
1.  Cook quinoa according to package (unless you have left overs like me)
2.  Cook tofu however you like it best.
I like mine cut into blocks and tossed with olive oil and some seasoning then sauteed to a golden brown over medium/medium high heat
3.  Prepare sauce while tofu is cooking
4.  Remove tofu from skillet and add in stir-fry veggies
5.  Make the bowl! – I put in quinoa, then the veggies, then the tofu and topped with the sauce and mixed it up.

I’m still working on this whole taking more pictures thing… I keep telling myself to take more pictures yet when the time comes I forget but here is the finished project (before mixing) and a clip from the Bachelorette.

TV and food

Questions for you guys:
1.  Do you have a favorite sauce you like to add to your bowls?
2.  How do you like your tofu cooked?
3.  What are some things you look for when deciding what to cook?

Leave a Reply

