Table Thursday: Breakfast Scramble

Well, I’m at the end of my two week pay period so I’m down to almost nothing in the house again.  I hate that I have to struggle like this but know that one day I won’t have to, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.  When I get to this point in the two week period I am scrounging for food to make.  This time I had PLENTY of kale and tofu but geez I am so tired of that, guess I need to buy more variety this next paycheck.  This morning after the gym I was starving and I really wanted something good to eat.  I started the usual open the fridge, close it, open the cupboard, close it, and repeat.  I found some old taco shells in my freezer (I put them there to keep them crispy — it works with tortilla chips).  They seemed ok and still kinda were crunchy…. I obviously was going to eat some tofu and kale lol  I had a tiny bit of squash left over, some vegan veggie patties, and salsa.  I decided I would make a Mexican tofu scramble.  It turned out pretty good except for my smashed taco shells that weren’t actually crunchy…. So here is the recipe just remember to use fresh taco shells 🙂

Ingredients:

Ingredients

*Simple Truth Meatless Breakfast Patties (I don’t recommend this brand, it is not horrible but I think there has to be a better tasting brand out there. Sorry to say that Simple Truth)

*Kale

*Olive Oil

*Squash (or any veggies)

*Salsa (Herdez is my favorite!)

*Tortilla Shells

*Garlic Salt

*Tofu (not pictured)

Directions:

Squash

  1.  Wrap tofu in towel to soak out excess liquid
  2.  Put olive oil in skillet and preheat
  3. Add squash and garlic salt
  4. Saute until almost finished and add in crumbled tofu
  5. Cook until tofu starts to brown (lightly)
  6. Add in kale and cook until wilted
  7. Remove scramble from skillet and add a little more olive oil
  8. Cook meatless patty according to package
  9. Crumble tortilla shells (or heck tortilla chips) and put scramble on top
  10. Add salsa on top and put meatless patty on the side
  11. Enjoy

Finished Project

2 thoughts on “Table Thursday: Breakfast Scramble

  1. Stacey says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! We like to make dinners like this sometimes on Sunday evenings.

    I’d love for you to join us for Thoughts of Home on Thursday this week.

    Welcome to blogging!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amy says:

      It was pretty delicious 🙂 I would love to join you for Thoughts of Home on Thursday, as I am new to blogging I’m not sure how to go about that though. I would love some guidance. Thank you for your comment

      Like

Leave a Reply

