Color Run 2016 – My First 5k in 2 Years!

Hey guys! I know it’s been awhile, I’m so sorry!!  The end of the semester is always a crazy time for me.  Teachers think it’s a great time to make everything due, add additional work, basically just try and make us go crazy!  2 weeks left until I am done with this semester and I couldn’t be happier (or busier).  This summer I am going to try and make this blog my main priority sense I will only be  working not going to school.

So as you may remember Savannah and I have been running a lot.  We were training/just getting in shape for the Color Run we signed up for awhile ago.  Well today was the day that we ran it!  Well, I ran/walked and Savannah killed it running.  I have been having a lot of pain below my knee and into my shin, originally I thought it was shin splints (I get those all the time) but I think it might be something else.  Unfortunately I don’t have health insurance so I can’t get it checked out.  Here was me the night before the race:

IMG_2173.JPG

I had hoped to run the whole thing because last weekend I finally ran almost the full 3 miles but the race had tons of hills and I’m just not in that kind of shape yet.  😦  Anyways, it was Savannah’s first 5k EVER so I was super excited for her to experience the excitement of running a 5k with tons of people.  She was so excited and we took tons of pictures!  The color run is a fun run so there is no pressure to run your hardest which is why I told her it would be a good 5k to start with.  It was great for me because I didn’t have to worry about being far in the back because so many people walk the whole thing.  So Savannah finished in about 28 minutes!!! I finished in about 40 and managed a 13:30ish min/mile pace even with walking (pretty slow still but I’m okay with it).  I loved seeing all the families running with their kids!  I think introducing exercise to your kids when they are young is the best way to go.  There are so many obese children (and adults) now that it makes me sad.  I wish I lived closer to the three kids/teenagers that I love dearly so that I could get them running with me!  I know we would have a blast 🙂  We are now hoping to train for a 10k but first I am going to try and heal my leg with long walks with the dogs until the pain goes away.  I can’t sit back and do nothing so I figure walks with the dogs will be good for them and me!  Enjoy the pictures below and if you haven’t ran a 5k get out there and do it!

IMG_2174

Stage 1 of getting ready

IMG_2175

Stage 2 of getting ready

IMG_2196

Loved the Theme!

IMG_2186IMG_2182

IMG_2191

During the color throw!IMG_2185

 

 
Some questions for you readers:

Have you ever ran a 5K?
Would you ever run a 5K? Why or why not?

I would love to have some interaction from you all!  Have a wonderful day:)

Leave a Reply

