Running Weather, Finally!!!!

The weather is finally starting to stay slightly nice outside here and I couldn’t be happier about it.  As you all know I hate the snow and the gloomy weather so the fact that the sun is shining makes me a happy girl.  Tuesday was gorgeous and we took advantage of it by going down to the park and running the 2 mile loop.  It was the first time I had run outside in forever, I honestly I can’t even remember the last time I ran outside.  I was super nervous but also super excited to get off the treadmill and onto actual ground.  Look, don’t I look happy?? LOL

Running Selfie

The run was a struggle, I was running at about a 13:20 pace on the treadmill but outside my pace quickened to a very fast 10 something minute mile for the first mile and a much slower/half walk second mile.  Overall runkeeper said I had averaged 12:00.  Still extremely slow for where I want to be but still too fast for where I am physically right now.  Wednesday is weight training and indoor light impact activity day for me.  I struggle with horrible, awful, painful shin splits most the time and I have found that if I mix up my runs with some low impact cardio it helps.  Wednesday was rough, I had no interest in being inside and we workout out our arms and upper body YUCK!

Today though was great!  It was another beautiful day so we went back down to the park and did the loop again.  I tried to focus on my pace this time since last time I went a little too fast at first.  I failed!  When runkeeper said I had been running for 10 minutes I had already passed a mile…. what is going on?? I only had to walk twice this time around and I somehow found a way to slow my pace down on the second mile so I was proud of that BUT my average pace this time???? 11:43! I  had cut more time off my run.  I guess most people would be happy but I am trying really hard to get back up to three miles and speed isn’t my focus right now.  If anyone has any tips on how to slow my pace while running outside so that I can run longer please feel free to leave a comment!

Here are a couple pictures I took during my cool down.

ParkRiver 2

2 thoughts on “Running Weather, Finally!!!!

Leave a Reply

