An Untraditional Spring Break Recap

Being 30 and still in college is difficult enough but being 30 and wanting to do fun stuff during Spring Break is even more difficult.  Obviously, I was not going to go down to Florida and party like I’m still 21; I would still be recouping if I had done that.  My friend Savannah (who IS 21) stayed in town to work so we basically hung out all week.  What I love about her is that while she is young she doesn’t act immature and make me feel like an old lady LOL  Another thing I love about her is that she loves working out, being outside, and exploring.  She is my workout buddy from a previous post and pushes me to push when I want to give up or slow down too much.

So for break Virginia decided to have some amazing weather, which I appreciated very much.  I have a really hard time during the winter here and usually by February I start to lose my mind and crave sun, warmth, and the ability to go outside.  Since the weather was going to be so great Savannah and I planned to go on 2 hikes.  We had planned to do the easier hike first and the more difficult one second but switched it around… that was an awful mistake. We each chose a hike we liked, I chose Kelly’s Knob, or so I thought I did.  I had only been there once and the directions online were crappy and didn’t take me where I wanted to go.  My moderate hike turned into a difficult hike, approximately 8 miles total and with a ridiculous incline.  The dogs absolutely loved this hike but even they were done at the end of it and slept the rest of the day.

IMG_2077

Not too far into the hike, they were still full of energy!

IMG_2068

Almost done with the hike and Sampson decided he needed to cool off

IMG_2079

Amazing picture of the end of the hike that Savannah took.

Between hikes I had made the dogs an appointment to go to the vet.  They hate going to the vet probably as much as I hate going to any kind of doctor, dentist, person.  Sampson was due for a booster and Harvey needed to get micro-chipped. Harvey doesn’t always have a collar on because when he was younger he almost strangled himself so I don’t put a collar or even a harness on unless I am around and sometimes I am lazy so I’ll take him out with just the leash no name tag (I am aware how awful that is, which is why I got him micro-chipped).  When we walked into the vet I asked when Harvey’s shots were due, they were due next month so we got everything done at once.  I felt like the worst mom making them get poked and jabbed but I know it’s for the best.  The dogs were NOT happy, just take a look at these photos.

IMG_2081     IMG_2080

Our plan for the next hike was to go to Savannah’s pick of Buffalo Mountain.  We had planned to go two days after Kelly’s Knob but I couldn’t move.  My calves were so tight and in so much pain I knew hiking wasn’t an option so we went to lunch at Pollo Loco, one of our favorite Mexican restaurants in town (or at least my favorite!) and then went to get our nails done.  The nail situation was a disaster and to say the least we won’t be going back to the place we tried.  The lady was sweet but not really what we were looking for.  Friday I was feeling better so we planned to hike on Saturday morning.  Savannah promised it wouldn’t be as intense as Kelly’s Knob and I trusted her.  She was right!  I had a much better time hiking Buffalo and didn’t want to die afterwards.  Buffalo isn’t too far from her parents’ house so they invited us over to grill and hang out after our hike.  It was wonderful meeting them and her dad can sure grill like a pro!  Their place is beautiful with a great patio area to enjoy the perfect weather.  It was the best way to end our Spring Break!  I guess being 30 and still in college isn’t always bad! 🙂

IMG_1521

Top of Buffalo

IMG_0099

Top of Buffalo on another side

IMG_2115

Leave a Reply

