Making the Best of this Snow Day with Fajitas

Chicken FajitaSnow is covering the ground again!  It’s not just an inch, it’s a whole lot of inches!  As previously stated in a post I am not a cold weather girl so you can guess how much I love the snow… Honestly, the only plus was that I didn’t have to walk to my 9 am class and had all day to clean and do homework (ok those are only considered a “plus” because they had to get done).  As the day went on I started to crave Mexican food.  I absolutely love Mexican food.  Being from Southern California I know what good Mexican food is, also being half Mexican also doesn’t hurt 😉  In Virginia finding good Mexican food is hard but I happened to come upon a place just down the street that is delicious!  Tonight that is where I wanted to go, however, my car was covered with snow, the roads were covered with snow, and I doubted the restaurant was open because everything was covered with snow!  Here is now where I put my disclaimer: 99.9% OF MY FOOD POSTS WILL BE ABOUT VEGAN FOOD.  I figured I should mention that so if you are not into vegan food then you know you won’t care much for my food posts or maybe they will peak your interest…   Anyways, I decided I had to have Mexican for dinner because I was craving it so bad and I started to look through my pantry, fridge, and freezer. I found enough to make do: Simple Truth “chicken” from Kroger (if you don’t have a Kroger by you I am so sorry, it’s a wonderful grocery store), frozen grilled fajita veggies from Trader Joe’s (if you are like me and have to drive an hour and a half to get to one of these I feel for you), and one lonely gluten free wrap.  This was the easiest meal to whip up and took less than 10 minutes to cook.  It definitely cured my craving for Mexican, for now, and was much healthier than going to a restaurant.  At Mexican restaurants I eat about a thousand chips, I don’t know about you but I would hate to actually count how many chips I eat when I go out.  The snow saved me a lot of empty calories and money today so I guess I can’t hate on it too much, until tomorrow when I have an 8 am and no delay as of yet from school.

Leave a Reply

