No Way Around the Cold for This Cali Girl

Mpublic-domain-images-free-stock-photos-004oving from San Diego to Southwest Virginia a few years back was a huge leap of faith.  The move turned out wonderful and changed my life for the better, however, the only thing I still can’t get used to is… the COLD!  I love the fall out here, the leaves turn colors and slowly fall to the ground, the summer isn’t too bad now that I know how to take advantage of river tubing and hiking, and the spring is beautiful with the flowers and trees coming back to life but the winter, oh the winter… The winter is the hardest time of year for me.  I want to be productive, be outside, be active but when the wind blows and the real feel temperature is below 0 degrees I seem to lose all sense of motivation.  I stay inside and cuddle under piles of blankets and cuddle with my dogs.  Today for example I had planned to go to the gym, I’ve been doing great working out the last few weeks and didn’t want to mess up my routine but when I woke up and took the dogs outside to potty the idea of putting on my gym clothes and walking or even driving two blocks seemed to fade into the back of my mind and disappear with the whip of the wind.  I told myself it would warm up and I would try again but the day never did warm up, much, and instead of working out I played on my blog and read my book I just downloaded.  I should have done some homework while I was inside but my book, The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins is so intriguing that it is hard to put down.  I only make myself take breaks so that I don’t have to spend more money on another book so soon.  Not watching TV has made me realize that I do still have time to read, which I thought I didn’t once I started back in school.  I’m hoping that tomorrow will be warmer because no matter what the temperature I HAVE to workout and I can’t stay in bed all day, I have too much homework and prepping for the week to do, Sunday’s are always my busy days.

Leave a Reply

